ⓘ Munster Senior Football Championship. The Munster Senior Football Championship is the premier inter-county competition for Gaelic football teams in the province ..

Munster Senior Football Championship

ⓘ Munster Senior Football Championship

The Munster Senior Football Championship is the premier inter-county competition for Gaelic football teams in the province of Munster in Ireland. It is organised by the Munster Council of the Gaelic Athletic Association and is played during the summer months. The final is usually played in July, however since 2018 the final has been played in June.

The championship is run on a straight knock-out basis, with all six counties of Munster competing. The winners of the championship enter the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship at the quarter-final group stage, while the other five teams participate in the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Kerry are the most successful team in Munster Championship history, having won the competition on 81 occasions. This includes two instances of winning the championship eight years in succession 1958–65 and 1975–82, a record for senior provincial football championships bettered only by Dublin. The championship has been won by Kerry or Cork every year since 1923, with the exception of victories by Tipperary in 1935 and Clare in 1992.


1. Stadia

Munster Championship matches were traditionally played at neutral venues or at a location that was deemed to be halfway between the two participants; however, counties eventually came to home and away agreements depending on the size of their individual stadia. Currently, all championship matches are played on a rolling home and away basis.

While the six county grounds are regularly used for championship matches in recent times, smaller club grounds have historically been used for games which may not have had such a high profile. These grounds include: Ned Hall Park in Clonmel, FitzGerald Park in Kilmallock, Pairc na nGael in Askeaton, Pairc Mac Gearailt in Fermoy, Hennessy Memorial Park in Milltown Malbay and Frank Sheehy Park in Listowel.

The stadiums for the 2016 championship showed a large disparity in capacity: Semple Stadium, the home ground of Tipperary has a capacity of 53.500 with Cusack Park, the home ground of Clare, having a capacity of 14.864. The combined total capacity of the Munster Championship in the 2016 championship was 208.960.

Stadium attendances are a significant source of regular income for the Munster Council and the individual county boards. For the 2016 championship, the total aggregate attendance at the five games was 40.700.


2. Managers

Managers in the Munster Championship are involved in the day-to-day running of the team, including the training and team selection. They are assisted in the team selection by a team of selectors. Their influence varies from county-to-county and is related to the relationship of the manager with the county board. As of 2016 all inter-county management teams are required to have some coaching qualifications.

The championships longest-serving manager in the modern era was Mick ODwyer, who was in charge of Kerry from 1974 until 1989. He is also the most successful manager in the history of the championship. During that time he won eleven Munster titles. Colm Collins is now the championships longest-serving current manager, having been in charge of Clare since 2013.

The current managers in the Munster Championship are:


3.1. Statistics Teams by decade

The most successful team of each decade, judged by number of Munster Senior Football Championship titles, is as follows:

  • 1880s: 2 for Tipperary 1888–89
  • 2010s: 9 for Kerry 2010-11-13-14-15-16-17-18-19
  • 1960s: 8 for Kerry 1960-61-62-63-64-65-68-69
  • 1920s: 6 for Kerry 1923-24-25-26-27-29
  • 1950s: 7 for Kerry 1950-51-53-54-55-58-59
  • 1930s: 9 for Kerry 1930-31-32-33-34-36-37-38-39
  • 1970s: 7 for Kerry 1970-72-75-76-77-78-79
  • 2000s: 6 for Kerry 2000-01-03-04-05-07
  • 1900s: 5 for Kerry 1903-04-05-08-09
  • 1940s: 7 for Kerry 1940-41-42-44-46-47-48
  • 1980s: 6 for Kerry 1980-81-82-84-85-86
  • 1890s: 6 for Cork 1890-91-93-94-97-99
  • 1910s: 6 for Kerry 1910-12-13-14-15-19
  • 1990s: 5 for Cork 1990-93-94-95-99

3.2. Statistics Gaps

  • 12 years: Cork 1916-1928
  • 75 years: Clare 1917-1992
  • 11 years: Kerry 1892-1903
  • 15 years: Cork 1928-1943
  • 13 years: Tipperary 1922-1935
  • Longest gaps between successive Munster titles
  • 16 years: Tipperary 1902-1918

Users also searched: